World Bank Voices
Syndicate content

Amp up your 2018 Spring Meetings experience

Bassam Sebti's picture


Our 2018 Spring Meetings is just around the corner and it’s time to get organized. Mainstage speakers include representatives from top-notch institutions such as LinkedIn, Oxford University, Financial Times, Brookings Institution — in addition to influencers Bill Gates and Jeff Weiner.

Connect, engage and watch to take full advantage of everything the #WBGMeetings has to offer. 

CONNECT with top development experts. This year’s speakers, delegates and attendees include top thought leaders and experts who will share the best solutions for today’s development issues.

Don’t miss your chance to connect with them face-to-face or online. If you're attending in person, stop by the Digital Media Zone where you will be able to chat, recharge and connect with others.

If you’re a journalist covering the Meetings, the Press Lounge located at the World Bank lobby would be your go-to zone as well to connect, exchange information and get an inside look at what’s in our bag during the Meetings!  

ENGAGE: We'll be live tweeting our World Bank Group events on our social media channels in English, Arabic, French and Spanish. Share, like and retweet! Join the discussion and submit your questions and remarks for events speakers and experts to answer!
 
If you need a break, check our World Bank Group Visitor Center and get a hands-on experience with our top-notch Virtual and Augmented Reality tools that will show you the history of the World Bank Group. There you’ll learn more about the work we do throughout the world.

 

WATCH online if you can’t be at #WBGMeetings in person. We’ve got you covered with World Bank Live. Block out time now to watch our events live, and in case you miss it, you can still catch up with your favorite events on our events recap page or watch a replay.

Here's a rundown of some of the events that we'll be live-streaming on World Bank Live: 

 

 

Investing in People

New data show that human capital is the single largest component of global wealth. Yet the world is failing to invest as broadly and effectively as it should in people. Join Bill Gates, Jim Yong Kim, Penny Mordaunt, and Her Majesty Queen Máxima of the Netherlands as they discuss the urgent issues that must be addressed to secure a strong foundation for human capital.
 
SECURING THE FOUNDATION FOR HUMAN CAPITAL
April 18, 2018 | 16:00 to 17:00 ET, 20:00 to 21:00 GMT | #InvestInPeople
 
TOWARDS UNIVERSAL HEALTH COVERAGE
April 20, 2018 | 16:00 to 17:30 ET, 20:00 to 21:30 GMT | #HealthforAll
 
BUILDING HUMAN CAPITAL
April 21, 2018 | 10:00 to 11:00 ET, 14:00 to 15:00 GMT | #InvestInPeople
 

Empowering Women

Women entrepreneurs serve as important role models, provide sources of employment, and shift expectations about what is possible for a woman or girl to do. Join our CEO Kristalina Georgieva, Canadian Minister of International Development Marie-Claude Bibeau, First female Mayor of Baghdad Thikra Alwash and other senior officials and entrepreneurs such as Wafaa Alashwali and Didi Chuxing.
 
INNOVATIONS IN ADDRESSING GENDER-BASED VIOLENCE
April 17, 2018 | 16:00 to 17:00 ET, 20:00 to 21:00 GMT | #GBVsolutions

EMPOWERING WOMEN FOR PEACE
April 19, 2018 | 11:00 to 12:00 ET, 15:00 to 16:00 GMT | #EmpowerWomen
 
THE POWER OF ONLINE FINANCE AND MARKET PLATFORMS
April 19, 2018 | 16:00 to 17:00 ET, 20:00 to 21:00 GMT | #EmpowerWomen, #IFCMarkets and #WeFi
 

Dev for Peace

The share of the extreme poor in fragile and conflict-affected areas could rise to as much as 60 percent. Tackling fragility and conflict is essential to ending poverty. Speakers in the below events can’t agree more and have some solutions knowledge to share.
 
ROUNDTABLE ON STATE FRAGILITY AND DEVELOPMENT
April 18, 2018 | 10:00 to 11:00 ET, 14:00 to 15:00 GMT | #StateFragility
 
THE SECURITY-DEVELOPMENT NEXUS
April 20, 2018 | 14:30 to 15:30 ET, 18:30 to 19:30 GMT | #dev4peace


Power of Tech

Technology can help countries skip traditional development stages to fast-forward economic growth. It also can supercharge progress toward financial access and account usage. Listen to LinkedIn CEO Jeff Weiner, Her Majesty Queen Máxima of the Netherlands and other thought-leaders discuss how this can be achieved.
 
DIGITAL ECONOMY FOR AFRICA
April 19, 2018 | 11:00 to 12:30 ET, 15:00 to 16:30 GMT | #DigitalAfrica
 
SDGS AND BIG DATA
April 19, 2018 | 14:30 to 16:00 ET, 18:30 to 20:00 GMT | #SDGbigdata
 
MOVING FROM FINANCIAL ACCESS TO INCLUSION: LEVERAGING THE POWER OF TECHNOLOGY
April 20, 2018 | 11:00 to 12:30 ET, 15:00 to 16:30 GMT | #FinAccess2020
 

Promoting Growth and Role of Private Sector

Join the World Bank Group and diverse panels of speakers from the development, government, banking, and business worlds as they explore Maximizing Finance for Development (MFD) and discuss opportunities to scale-up investments and innovation.
 
FRONTIERS IN ANTICORRUPTION
April 18, 2018 | 11:00 to 12:00 ET, 15:00 to 16:00 GMT | #EndCorruption
 
THIRTY YEARS OF MIGA
April 19, 2018 | 16:30 to 17:30 ET, 20:30 to 21:30 GMT | #MIGA30
 
DEBT AND GROWTH: A BALANCING ACT?
April 20, 2018 | 9:30 to 11:00 ET, 13:30 to 15:00 GMT | #Debt4Dev
 
FINANCING THE FUTURE OF FOOD
April 21, 2018 | 12:30 to 13:30 ET, 16:30 to 17:30 GMT | #Fin4Dev
 

Can’t-miss other events!

Of course, there are many other panel discussions, on-topic sessions, and inspiring keynotes. Click here to get the full calendar of the events. Don’t forget to get an email reminder or add the event you’re interested in to your calendar. You can also subscribe to our Global Newsletter for development news, blogs and data about our work around the world.

Comments

Submitted by M. Ilham AM Riburane on

The world must work optimally in order for the New Financial System and Banking World to run immediately on Earth for the purpose of creating Rich with togetherness and intimacy.

Submitted by Muhammad Zarar on

To end extreme poverty and sharing sustainable development The World Bank Group, United Nations need to chalk out a strategy for "Development through Technology & Strategy" utilizing the best practices of investment in human capital with the support of IoT and natural resources forming a nexus between Artificial intelligence(AT) and natural intelligence(NT), because NT is as much important as the AT.

Submitted by Sahibzada Arshad on

Looking forward to participate in WBG Spring meetings. All of the thematic areas under discussion this year are very important and relevant at least for me.

Add new comment

Plain text

  • Allowed HTML tags: <br> <p>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.