Syndicate content

Add new comment

2014 Spring Meetings Guide to Webcast Events

Donna Barne's picture
Also available in: العربية | Español | Français
The global economy and international development will be front and center April 8-13, when thousands of development leaders come to Washington for the IMF-World Bank Spring Meetings. Tune in to the conversation at 25 World Bank Live interactive webcasts on topics including digital finance, Syrian art, universal health care, and the global movement to end poverty. Several events will be in multiple languages. You can also follow the conversation on Twitter. We’ve listed some highlights below; check out the full schedule of events. 

Wednesday, April 9


A Conversation with Al Jazeera's Ali Velshi and Jim Yong Kim
Time: 9-10 a.m ET (13:00–14:00 GMT)
Al Jazeera's Ali Velshi sits down with World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim to discuss the priorities and changes at the World Bank Group and issues critical to ending poverty. In Arabic, English, French and Spanish. Submit questions in advance. Follow on Twitter with #askjyk

Digital Finance: Innovation at the Core of Big Development Challenges
Time: 11:15 a.m.-12:45 p.m. ET (15:15–16:45 GMT)
Entrepreneurs from developing countries and top business leaders explore ways innovative financial tools could expand services to billions of people worldwide. In Arabic, English, French and Spanish. Submit questions in advance. Follow on Twitter with #digitalfinance

Syrian Crisis: The Art of Resilience
Time: 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m. ET (15:30–17:00 GMT)
World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim opens an art exhibition featuring 35 paintings by 15 Syrian artists, reflecting one of the largest refugee exoduses in modern history. Submit questions in advance. Follow on Twitter with #withsyria and #ArtofResilience

Closing Feedback Loops: From Engaged Citizens to More Responsive Governments
Time: 2-3:30 p.m. ET (18:00–19:30 GMT)
Panelists from civil society, government, and academia debate how to transform citizen feedback into better services. In Arabic, English, French, and Spanish. Submit questions in advance. Follow on Twitter with #opengovnow

Thursday, April 10

2014 Spring Meetings Press Briefing: World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim
Time:
9:30-10:15 a.m. ET (13:30-14:15 GMT)
World Bank Group President Kim addresses the press on the eve of the 2014 Spring Meetings.

What Have Young People Gained from the Arab Spring?
Time: 10:30 a.m.-noon ET (14:30–16:00 GMT)
Panelists from Tunisia, Yemen, and Morocco debate how to tap the potential of young people in  the Middle East and North Africa. In Arabic, English, and French. Submit questions in advance. Follow on Twitter with #ArabYouth

Talking About a Data Revolution
Time: 10-11:30 a.m. ET (14:00–15:30 GMT)
A revolution is taking place in the way technology and data are being used around the world. How can developing countries benefit? A panel explores the potential. In Arabic, English, French, and Spanish. Submit questions in advance. Follow on Twitter with #datarev


#EndPoverty 2030: Millennials Take on the Challenge
Time: Noon- 2:30 p.m. ET (16:00–16:30 GMT)
Tune in as “Millennial” leaders call on young people to help make this generation the first in history to end extreme poverty. In Arabic, English, French, and Spanish. Follow on Twitter with #endpoverty

Making Innovation Policy Work: Learning from Experimentation
Time: 2-3:30 p.m. ET (18:00–19:30 GMT)
World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim and OECD Secretary-General Ángel Gurría share insights on a new World Bank-OECD publication on innovation policy. Submit questions in advance. Follow on Twitter with #InnovationPolicy

Learning for All Symposium: Investing in a Brighter Future
Time: 2:30-4 p.m. ET (18:30–20:30 GMT)
How do we solve the global learning crisis? Join us for a panel discussion with ministers of finance and development leaders on how to address learning for all. In English, French, and Spanish. Submit questions in advance. Follow on Twitter at @wbeducation and #educationfirst


Years of Living Dangerously: Showtime Climate Change Series
Time: 6:00 p.m. - 6:40 p.m. ET (22:00 – 22:40 GMT).
Tune in to a conversation about the impact of climate change, as revealed in the new documentary series, Years of Living Dangerously — the brainchild of filmmaker James Cameron. Featuring New York Times Columnist Thomas Friedman, global conservation scientist Dr. M. Sanjayan, and World Bank Group Climate Change Envoy Rachel Kyte. Follow on Twitter with #wblive


Friday, April 11

Toward Universal Health Coverage by 2030
Time:
Noon-12:50 p.m. ET (16:00-16:50 GMT)
World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim, UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, Harvard University Professor Lawrence H. Summers, and former New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg discuss the growing global momentum toward universal health care. In Arabic, English, French, and Spanish. Submit questions in advance. Follow on Twitter with @worldbankhealth or #UHC2030

Emerging Economies: Views from East and South
Time: 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m. ET (15:00–16:30 GMT )
What can East Asia and Latin America learn from each other? Join this event featuring a distinguished panel of government officials and economists. In English and Spanish. Submit questions in advance. Follow on Twitter with #EastandSouth

Sanitation and Water for All 2014 High-Level Meeting
Time: 2-4:30 p.m. ET (18:00–20:30 GMT)
World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim, UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, ministers and representatives of development banks and water and sanitation agencies participate in this meeting on progress and commitments in water and sanitation. In English and French. Submit questions in advance. Follow on Twitter with #HLM2014

Sharing Prosperity, Delivering Results
Time: 4-5:15 p.m. ET (20:00–21:15 GMT)
World Bank Group President Kim, UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, and Columbia University Earth Institute Director Jeffrey D. Sachs discuss what it will take to boost income growth among the bottom 40% of people in developing countries. In Arabic, English, French, and Spanish. Follow on Twitter with #wblive

Saturday, April 12

State of the Africa Region: Sustaining Economic Growth in Uncertain Times
Time: 11:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. ET (15:30 – 17:00 GMT).
World Bank Chief Economist for the Africa Region Francisco Ferreira presents this event bringing together policy makers, civil society representatives, and development partners to examine Africa's recent growth patterns and assess how resilient they are likely to prove, given possible changes in commodity prices and the availability of foreign capital. In English and French. Submit questions in advance. Follow on Twitter with #SOTRafrica

2014 Spring Meetings Development Committee Press Briefing
Time: 5:30 p.m. (22:30 GMT)
The World Bank Group Development Committee will address the media at the close of the 2014 Spring Meetings.
 


 

Plain text

  • Allowed HTML tags: <br> <p>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.