Syndicate content

Viewer's Guide: Live Coverage of the 2013 Spring Meetings

Lauren Clyne Medley's picture

Available in Español | Français | عربي

With the World Bank Group’s 2013 Spring Meetings just around the corner, we’ve compiled a guide to the many live events happening. No matter where you are around the world, you can join the conversation all week via #wblive.

Several featured events will be webcast and covered in multiple languages. Make sure to follow and participate in the week’s events in Arabic, English, French, and Spanish.
Your thoughts and questions will help make the conversations happening both online and offline at this year’s Spring Meetings rich and diverse. Don’t forget to ask questions before and during our events to engage with top development leaders in a global conversation on what #ittakes to end poverty.

Flagship Event: April 19
Global Voices on Poverty – Interactive Live Blog & Webcast
Watch and join the conversation in Arabic, English, French, and Spanish
11:00 a.m.-12:10 p.m. EDT (15:00-16:10 GMT or convert time)
Participate in an interactive conversation on ending poverty with World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim and UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moonGlobal Voices on Poverty will bring together world leaders, opinion makers, and a global online audience to discuss what #ittakes to end poverty.


What's On: April 15
The Private Sector and Ending Poverty – Live Webcast
Watch and join the conversation in English, Spanish
10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. EDT (14:00 – 15:00 GMT or convert time)
IFC, the private sector arm of the World Bank Group, is hosting a conference with the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation to explore whether effective results measurement can help companies increase impact.

Joseph Stiglitz on the Causes and Consequences of Growing Inequality – Webcast and Live Blog
Watch and join the conversation in English
12:30 – 2:00 p.m. EDT (16:30 – 18:00 GMT or convert time)
In this live webcast, Professor Joseph E. Stiglitz will discuss how inequality inflicts social and economic damage around the world. Stiglitz will outline effective responses to inequality and discuss the contexts in which various policies work.


What's On: April 16
Debating Globalization with Kaushik Basu, Ory Okolloh, Eric Maskin, & Amartya Sen – Webcast & Live Blog
Watch and join the conversation in English
4 – 5:30 p.m. EDT (20:00 – 21:30 GMT or convert time)
Join World Bank Group Chief Economist Kaushik and thought leaders for a Davos-style debate on the promise and perils of globalization and the challenges of development.


What's On: April 17
Bending the Arc of Poverty Featuring Jim Yong Kim and Kaushik Basu – Webcast and Live Blog
Watch and join the conversation in Arabic, English, French, and Spanish
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. EDT (15:00 – 16:00 GMT or convert time)
Join World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim and World Bank Group Sr. Vice President Chief Economist Kaushik Basu for a conversation on ending poverty and boosting shared prosperity.

Given Global Uncertainty, Can Latin America Financially Move Forward? – Webcast and Live Blog
Watch and join the conversation in Spanish
12:30 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. EDT (16:30 – 17:30 GMT or convert time)
Given the international economic climate, can Latin America sustain its current growth? Join World Bank Chief Economist for Latin America and the Caribbean Augusto de la Torre for this interactive conversation.


What's On: April 18
2013 Spring Meetings Press Briefing: World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim
8:45 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. EDT (12:45 – 13:30 GMT or convert time)
Watch World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim address the press during the World Bank Group’s 2013 Spring Meetings.

Equal Futures Partnership: From Promise to Progress – Webcast and Liveblog
Watch and join the conversation in Arabic, English, French, and Spanish
11:00 – 12:30 p.m. EDT (15:00 – 16:30 GMT or convert time)
World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim will host the heads of delegation from the Equal Futures Partnership's founding member countries for a roundtable discussion about their efforts to expand economic opportunities and political participation for women and girls.

Insecurity in Latin America: A Threat to Development– Webcast and Live Blog
Watch and join the conversation in Spanish
12:30 – 2:30 p.m. EDT (16:30 – 18:30 GMT or convert time)
Join a conversation with the World Bank Group and Inter-American Development Bank on responding to the threat of insecurity in Latin America.

Girl Rising: A Rally for Girls and Women – Webcast and Live Blog
Watch and join the conversation in English
6:30 – 7:00 p.m. EDT (22:30 – 23:00 GMT or convert time)
Join World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim, United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, Actress and Activist Freida Pinto, CNN’s Jake Tapper, and more for an on- and off- line rally calling for the empowerment of girls and women around the world.


What's On: April 19
Global Voices on Poverty – Interactive Live Blog & Webcast
Watch and join the conversation in Arabic, English, French, and Spanish
11:00 a.m.-12:10 p.m. EDT (15:00-16:10 GMT or convert time)
Participate in an interactive conversation on ending poverty with World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim and UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moonGlobal Voices on Poverty will bring together world leaders, opinion makers, and a global online audience to discuss what #ittakes to end poverty.

A Matter of Life: Investing in Sanitation – a Conversation with Jan Eliasson, Tony Lake, & Global Decision-Makers
Watch and join the conversation in English
2:00 – 3:30 p.m. EDT (18:00 – 19:30 GMT or convert time)
Where good sanitation exists, people are healthier, wealthier, and cleaner. Yet, sanitation remains one of the most off-track Millennium Development Goals. Join an online conversation with key global decision makers about the economics and politics of sanitation.

 


What's On: April 20
Spring Meetings 2013 Press Briefing: Development Committee
5:30 – 6:30 p.m. EDT (21:30 – 22:30 GMT or convert time)
Watch World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim address the media at the close of the 2013 Spring Meetings in Washington, DC.

 


What's On: April 21
Financial Inclusion Pathways for Women and the Poor
Watch and join the conversation in English
9:00 – 4:00 p.m. EDT (13:00 – 20:00 GMT or convert time)
Join a conversation with global leaders on creating financial pathways for women and the world's poorest.

Envie de réagir ? Envoyez-nous vos questions et commentaires

Plain text

  • Balises HTML autorisées : <br> <p>
  • Passage à la ligne et paragraphes automatiques.
En soumettant ce formulaire, j'accepte la politique de confidentialité de Mollom.