Published on Let's Talk Development

Two essay competitions for students: One hosted by the International Economic Association, the other by Georgetown University

This page in:
Students at higher education institutions worldwide who are studying full time can earn cash prizes for their writing skills, but deadlines are looming.

The International Economic Association (IEA) is holding its first Stiglitz Essay Prize (SEP) in honor of Joseph E. Stiglitz, its past association President. The topic must cover one of two broad themes:
  • The causes and policy consequences of growing inequality
  • A rethinking of macro-economics and proposals for new approaches that speak to the weaknesses in modelling revealed by the 2008 global crisis

The short-listed essays will go to the following judges: Joseph E. Stiglitz (Columbia University and IEA past President), Timothy Besley (London School of Economics and IEA President) and Kaushik Basu (World Bank Senior Vice President and IEA President Elect).

The winner of the prize will win US$1,000, and the runner(s)-up will receive US$500. The winning essay and runner(s) up will also be published on the IEA website.

The deadline for submissions is Sept 1, 2015. More information on the competition can be found here.

Georgetown University is holding its Global Futures Contest – The End of World Poverty competition.  Contributors should submit a response to the questions below in the form of a 750-1,000 word essay, 2-3 minute video, or piece of artwork and accompanying commentary.

Imagine it is the year 2030 and we have successfully achieved the World Bank’s goal of eradicating extreme poverty. How did we manage to achieve this? What was a key obstacle we overcame along the way?

Entries will be judged by a panel of Georgetown faculty and students and will be based on creativity and originality of the ideas presented, clarity and organization of the message, and the author’s demonstrated grasp of challenges and potential solutions around poverty reduction.

Three top awards of US$1,000, US$750, and US$500 will be announced on Earth Day, April 22, 2015.

The deadline for submissions is Apr 14, 2015. More information on the competition can be found here.

Join the Conversation

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly
Remaining characters: 1000