2014 Annual Meetings Guide to Webcast Events

|

This page in:

How can economic growth benefit more people? What will it take to double the share of renewables in the global energy mix? Will the world have enough food for everyone by 2050? You can hear what experts have to say on these topics and others, ask questions, and weigh in at more than 20 webcast events from Oct. 7 to 11. That's when thousands of development leaders gather in Washington for the World Bank-International Monetary Fund Annual Meetings. Several events will be live-blogged or live-tweeted in multiple languages. You can also follow the conversation on Twitter with #wblive and other hashtags connected to events. We’ve compiled a sampling of events and hashtags below.  Check out the full schedule or download the Annual Meetings app for Apple devices and Android smartphones.

Tuesday, Oct. 7


World Bank Group Youth Summit 2014: The Need for Open & Responsive Governments
The second annual Youth Summit explores how young people can help make governments more open.  9 am -1 pm ET (13:00–17:00 GMT) #wbgyouthsummit

Latin America: Will Slower Growth Increase Inequality?
How can countries promote economic growth that guarantees universal access to quality public services?  World Bank Chief Economist for Latin America and the Caribbean Augusto de la Torre addresses this and other questions. 12-1 pm ET (16:00 – 17:00 GMT) #Perspectivas2014 & #LaDesigualdadEs

Wednesday, Oct. 8

Building Shared Prosperity in an Unequal World
Influential Chinese talk show host and media entrepreneur Yang Lan sits down with World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim and Chief Economist Kaushik Basu for a conversation about reducing the gap between the haves and have-nots.  In Arabic, English, French, Spanish, and Chinese. 10 -11 am ET (14:00–15:00 GMT) #endpoverty

Yang Lan
Yang Lan

Building a Global Coalition for Youth Employment
Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim and a panel of ministers, officials and private sector representatives unveil a global initiative to addresses the pervasive challenge of youth employment and underemployment. 12-1:15 pm ET (16:00-17:15 GMT) #jobs4youth

Making Extractive Industries’ Wealth Work for the Poor
Join a discussion on channeling revenues from extractive industries—oil, gas and mining—to end poverty through diversified growth and development.  In Arabic, English, French, Spanish.  2 pm-3:30 pm ET (18:00–19:30 GMT) #extractives

Global Monitoring Report 2014: MDGs, the Twin Goals and Inclusive Growth
The World Bank’s progress report on the Millennium Development Goals informs a panel discussion on investing in human capital, social safety nets and green growth. 3:30 pm-4:30 pm ET (19:30–0:30 GMT) #endpoverty

Civil Society Townhall 2014
World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim and IMF Managing Director Christine Lagarde discuss economic and development challenges with civil society representatives. 5-6 pm ET (21:00-22:00 GMT) #AMCSO14

Thursday, Oct. 9

Impact of the Ebola Crisis: A Perspective from the Countries
Leaders discuss how to accelerate an end to the epidemic. The panel includes Guinea President Alpha Condé, Liberia President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Sierra Leone President Ernest Bai Koroma, UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim, IMF Managing Director Christine Lagarde, African Development Bank President Donald Kaberuka, Dr. Tom Frieden, director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention,.and David Nabarro, Senior UN System Coordinator for Ebola Virus Disease. 7:30 -9 am ET (11:30 – 13:00 GMT) #EbolaResponse

2014 Annual Meetings Press Briefing: World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim
The World Bank Group president addresses the press on the eve of the Annual Meetings. 9-10 am ET (13:00–14:00 GMT) #wblive

Africa: Sharing Economic Growth Broadly: New Challenges for the Continent
High-level policymakers discuss how  economic growth can benefit broad segments of their societies. 9 -11 am ET (13:00-15:00 GMT) #wblive

Measuring Poverty and Prosperity
Experts debate the options for accurately measuring progress on the twin goals of ending extreme poverty by 2030 and boosting shared prosperity. 12:30-2 pm ET (16:30–18:00 GMT) #endpoverty

Transforming Economies to Benefit the Poor: The Complementary Roles of the Public and Private Sectors for Inclusive Growth
UK Secretary of State for International Development Justine Greening, World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim, and other speakers from the private sector and national governments discuss how economic growth can benefit more people. 2-3 pm ET (18:00–19:00 GMT) #wblive

Jobs, Growth and Shared Prosperity
Tune in to a discussion on how to create more and better jobs, particularly for vulnerable groups such as women and youth. 3:30-5:00 pm ET (19:30-21:00 GMT) #wblive

Cities and Citizens
Cities and Citizens: Game Changers for Inclusive Development
Development leaders discuss the transformative power of inclusive institutions and citizen engagement for enhancing accountability and improving public services for the poor. In Arabic, English and Spanish.  4-5:30 pm ET (20:00–21:30 GMT) #cities4all

Friday, Oct. 10

2014 Annual Meetings Plenary
World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim reports on the Bank Group’s progress and plans for next year. 9-10 am ET (13:00–14:00 GMT) #wblive

Financing Development Post-2015: Towards a Shared Vision
High-level representatives of government ministries, United Nations, private sector and others discuss how to finance future global development goals. 11 am-1 pm ET (15:00 – 17:00 GMT) #wblive

Food for the Future: Achieving Food Security in the Face of Climate Change
How will we feed 9 billion people by 2050, in the face of environmental challenges? Hear from a high-level expert panel on how a move toward climate-smart agriculture, more integrated landscapes and seascapes, and more sustainable supply chains can help ensure food for the future. 12:30-1:45 pm ET (16:30-17:45 GMT) #food4future

Rising to the Renewable Energy Challenge
Ed Crooks, energy Editor of the Financial Times, moderates a discussion on what governments, businesses and development partners need to do to shift the needle on renewables while balancing environmental and equity issues. In English and Spanish. 12:30 -2 pm ET (16:30–18:00 GMT) #wblive

Making Everyone Count: Unique Identification to Fight Poverty
A high-level panel shares perspectives on why civil registries and national identification systems are smart public investments. In Arabic and English. 2 -3:30 pm ET (18:00 -19:30 GMT) #wblive

Jobs vs. Privilege in the Middle East and North Africa
Policymakers, researchers, business people and civil society members discuss recent research showing economic policies often limited competition and instead created monopoly rents to politically connected firms. In Arabic and English. 2-3:30 pm ET (18:00–19:30 GMT) #MENAjobs

Financing Development in Fragile and Conflict-Affected States: Challenges and Opportunities
This event aims to raise awareness of the need to ramp up financing in areas affected by conflict and fragility. 4-5:30 pm ET (20:00-21:30 GMT) #fin4dev

Transforming World Trade: Global Value Chains and Development
A panel including World Bank Group President Jim Yong Kim, General Electric Vice-Chairman John G. Rice and World Trade Organization Director-General Roberto Azevedo explores the emerging importance of global value chains in global trade. In English and Spanish. 4-5:30 pm ET (20:00 -21:30 GMT) #valuechains

Saturday, Oct. 11

State of the Africa Region
This event examines the links between economic growth, structural transformation and poverty reduction in Africa. In English and French. 11 am-12:30 pm ET (15:00–16:30 GMT) #wblive

Illicit Financial Flows on the Post-2015 Development Agenda
The World Bank Group’s Integrity Vice Presidency is hosting this open forum on illicit financial flows within the context of development financing. 1-2:30 pm ET (17:00–19:30 GMT) #illicitflows

2014 Annual Meetings Development Committee Press Briefing
The joint World Bank-IMF Development Committee addresses the media at the close of the 2014 Annual Meetings. 5 pm ET (21:00 GMT)

Join the Conversation

Prabhavathy Ramakrishnan
October 06, 2014

In my view the problems we face today, from extreme poverty to environmental degradation, conflict and use of brute force to climate change, all originates from individuals initially, not from the system. Every problem have a local dimension as well as a global one. So we have to adopt a localized approach and work towards finding and implementing local solutions, and the impact will be global.
I think the key to the solution lies in the problem itself. Poverty can be eradicated only by the poor people (of course, they need the required resources), marginalised and vulnerable people can be empowered only by themselves, peace can be restored to a region only by the conflict creating people. So we need to inquire deep into the problem.
The only thing we need is to create awareness among the people and they will change themselves and the system. My message to World Bank in this occasion is 'THE POOR AND THE VULNERABLE PEOPLE ARE NOT THE SECTION TO BE UPLIFTED OR MERE RECIPIENTS OF BENEFITS BUT THE KEY PARTNERS IN A GROWTH MODEL THAT IS ECONOMICALLY, ECOLOGICALLY AND SOCIALLY EQUITABLE'.

Dr. Ananh Norasingh
October 03, 2014

How can economic growth benefit more people? What will it take to double the share of renewables in the global energy mix? Will the world have enough food for everyone by 2050? what experts have to say on these topics ? All are talking, WBG must find a practical solutions to the natural environment.
As for the channeling revenues from extractive industries- oil, gas & mining- to end poverty through diversified growth development. That is not right thing to do, the more you extract the earth, the more open gap, which cause the environment change.
The question of “ How to feed 9 billion people by 2050, in the face of environmental challenges?” that is the big problem, you need a practical Bioneer to work out a fast approach toward climate alternative natural agriculture, that is less grains but able to feed the people full, due to the properties of the grains

Joseeph
October 03, 2014

l think with all these lined up programm/event the global village will become a better place for all. African government should line up event that will bring equity and justice into banking sector.Let us work with one vision and be strongly focused.